all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Returning to S&S after low back muscle strain

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

azsixshooter

First Post
I had been doing S&S for about 5 months when I hurt my back about 5 weeks ago. I strained it on a sunday and normally did S&S 6 days a week starting on Sunday.

I took s, m, tu and wed off, then on th I tried going through the warmups with my 16kg kb and back started hurting after 2 sets. I finished the 3rd set, but did not swing or do any TGU's.

Over the next week I aggravated it twice and the 2nd time I was hurting very bad. I spent 2 days completely resting and using NSAIDS and heat and epson salts. I consulted with a PT and agreed to rest for 2 weeks. I did only pullups and some really mild Original Strength resets during that time.

After 2 weeks I began doing corrective exercises such as bird dogs, side planks, modified MacGill curl ups, hip bridges and more OS resets. Now that I'm feeling stronger I'm doing the correctives a little more intensively and have been adding unloaded TGU's into the mix just balancing a shoe on my fist and focusing on form. I also started walking and did 3 miles in 1 hr with no pain.

I wanted to post this to hit y'all up for any ideas or strategies you might have for easing back into S&S. My PT said I should start back with very light weight such as 3 or 5 lbs and progress from there. I can't bring myself to buy a tiny kb so I was wondering what else I could use. I have a black Army fitness band (tubing) but I wasn't sure if there's a way to use that to approximate a swing. I tried standing on it and doing a swing movement but it didn't feel right. I'm thinking maybe a 1 gallon water jug with a towel through the handle but if anyone has any ideas I would love to hear them!