all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed rope jumping

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)
Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

elli

Level 10 Valued Member
Hi all :)
I have to pass a fitness test (for a trainer's licence) in 4 weeks, where I have to jump rope (100reps in 2minutes). I haven't done it for years and put me on a test yesterday. I needed 53sec for 100reps. I was satisfied:)
Now I think about jumping rope more regularly and to implement it into my weekly routine. Since I started training with weights (also for the licence) I try to figure out when...before/after/alprt from weight training. I do my kb practice twice a week (only the next 4 weeks, than back to 4x, but I also feel like needing a break).
Anyone else here who does rope jumping?

@elli: ropeskipping is great. rhythmic, self limiting, low budget, hr skyrocket...
I use it sometimes for quite some time. After a longer layoff it is imperative (at least to me, cause with over 90kg bw I am not a gazelle) to get the feet, ankles, tendons (Achilles) slowly getting used to the high impact forces this activity provides. I start then something like 30sec. on, 30 sec of for ten to twenty sets, maybe two/three times a week.

Last edited:
If you are new to it I would get Ross Enamait's Jump Rope DVD. It is awesome. He goes from ground zero and teaches the basics all the way through learning cross over and double/triple unders.

Great DVD and good price.