all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Running

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Gary W

Level 5 Valued Member
Im just getting into running, currently doing s&s mon tues thurs fri and running 3 miles on a sunday morning

I would like to do a half marathon one day but not in any rush

Once my 3miles is under 30mins currently 31 i will up it to 5miles

To get my running better im thinking of going on a Wednesday too, as im getting older (39) im worried about over doing it, S&S 4 days running 2 days?

Does anyone have any advice or experience with combining the 2?

Running snd S&S is a great combo. I wouldn’t worry about overdoing it as long as you are smart about how you run. Definitely when you are starting out, you want to build a strong aerobic base and you don’t need to worry about pace at this stage. It’s more important to get more time in at an easy pace. Make sure you can pass the talk test easily, walk hills and even some flats if you need to. 5 miles this way is tons better than 3 that makes you feel gassed.

There has been a lot of conversation in this forum and more widely about this kind of aerobic training. Look up long slow distance (aka lsd), the Maffetone method or aerobic base for tons of material, but it’s really not more complicated than what I lay out above.

When I was doing S&S at the same time I was training for a half, I loved the combination. It made me feel energized and ready for anything. Have fun!

Thanks, yes i find the 3 miles i have to stop and just have a breather for maybe 30s tops then im good again.

Ive been doing the same route and the point at which i have to stop is getting further and further.

I will look up the Maffetone method and have a read now thanks

im getting older (39) im worried about over doing it
39 is young.