all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed Russian Bear training specifics

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)
Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Lamentation

Level 1 Valued Member
Hello!

So, I have about 4 years of weightlifting experience, even tho I took farely long breaks of several months several times, largely because I overtrained. But I learned a lot and I am back at it again and very ready to pull through. I train primarily for size but of course strength a preliminary for that. I came across Pavel Tatsouline's "Russian Bear program" recently, have a few questions about it and it would be awesome if you could help me out. I attached a Screenshot of the program if you're not familiar with it.

Given my goal of size, do you recommend that I should be doing more than the recommended 5 reps each set? I'm a slow fiver guy, so do you think that 8-10 reps would be better instead? Also, this workout only includes compound exercises, should I add one isolation excersise with about 3-4 sets at the end of each session as well? Any additional help would be great if you can think of something to add!

Thank you for your time! It is much appreciated!

Attachments

• Screenshot_20201118_233634_com.android.chrome~2.jpg
    Screenshot_20201118_233634_com.android.chrome~2.jpg
    155.7 KB · Views: 22
Given my goal of size, do you recommend that I should be doing more than the recommended 5 reps each set?
No. Just adjust the rest periods. Two sets of 5, even with only a short rest between, will still allow you to use more weight, and lift with better form, than one set of 10. Nothing wrong with an occasional higher-rep set, but 5's are the sweet spot to make you both stronger and put more meat on your bones. Also higher-rep sets are fine for assistance exercises, just not for the main courses of your lifting.