all posts post new thread

Kettlebell S&S alternative when knee is swollen?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Johnny

Level 2 Valued Member
Hi
I have been doing S&S for about 10 months.
However my knee got swollen a few days ago

What is an alternative to goblet squats and turkish get ups (can't lean on my right knee)?

Swings are working well for me and I don't want to stop
S&S works really well for me in terms of lower back and general strength.

Thank you
Johnny

Welcome @Johnny

Any idea how your knee got swollen?

Please tell us about your S&S progress and experience in the 10 months you've been doing it and what weight you were currently working with prior to the knee problem.

Hi Anna
I am 44, 178cm, 69.5kg.
Used to run 10km*4-5/week but was too slim and had lower back pressure.

Moved to s&s 7 times/week. began with 5kg, reached 28kg.
Got stronger, no back pressure, added pull ups,push-ups, dips on trx, ran 10k 1/week.

Moved to 30 kg, had a muscle cramp between the shoulders blades (my bad, wasn't listening to my body) took me a few weeks to get back.

I am aware the proposed weight jumps are larger however for me 2kg increase worked well and prevented tendon injuries I am prone to.

Now I am back at 27kg for 2 hand swings, 18/20kg for one hand swing and was at 24kg for Turkish get ups.

Knee got swollen probably due to a hit I took or micro injury, it had a tiny swelling I didn't feel too much and then I rode the bicycle for 8 km and it got massively swollen.

The orthopedic said its water in the knee, gave me magnesium and vitamin d and said it will get better within 1-6 months.

I also accidentally strained my ankle a few days ago so instead of turkish get up I added single leg deadlift with 2*12kg kettlebells -works well to strengthen the ankle, avoid bending the swollen knee (till I get your advice :) ) and engage core and lower back.