all posts post new thread

Kettlebell S&S and some beginner advice

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Kihlgast

First Post
hi all

Im quite new to the kettlebell and training in general. But the kettlebell has really Got me in to the whole training thing

I have been Reading about the simple and sinister, and i really like that it is only Two exicises. But I do not have the time to work out every Day of the week. I work out three days a week.

So is the s&s a waste When I dont intend to train more than three days every week? Or should I ad some more exercises to my workouts?

When doing the one-hand swing is a set of 10, 10 times with each hand or is it 5 times with each hand?

Looking forward to some replys wich Will be Much apreciated

In the book Pavel says that 2days is sufficient. Of course more days would be better, but you should be fine with 3days/week.
Maybe on the other days wake up 10min earlier and then do something like 40 swings and 2 (per side) TGUs. It's not a full S&S session with warmup etc, but you'll get daily practice in the lifts which will benefit you a lot.

It's 10 times with each hand: 10 left -> rest -> 10 right -> rest -> 10 left -> rest -> ... until you reach 100

I don't know your circumstances, but at one time I thought I didn't have enough time to do S&S more than a couple of times per week either. Once I started doing it and saw the benefits it provided, I soon figured out how to do it 5 days per week, and haven't looked back. For me it was worth the investment, and then some. But as @Kettlebelephant says you should be fine with 3 days; even more so if you can 'sneak' some other stuff in.

Best, IMHO, would be to work up to 5-7 days a week for a while before cutting back to less often.

-S-

Hi @Kihlgast, welcome to the kettlebell world!