all posts post new thread

Kettlebell S&S as "Athletic" Training (not just strength)

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Kozushi

Level 7 Valued Member
As I'm not a professional anything to do with exercise, I might have the terminology wrong, but I keep thinking about why S&S has been so good for me. What I mean by "athletic" here is the idea of moving around deftly with moving objects, having to adjust balance, shift directions, maintain alertness, project power or resistance in different directions. In my own mind I'm imagining a comparison of slow heavy lifts like deadlifts or presses with S&S. For sure the slow heavy lifts also teach balance and I'm also sure they have an advantage over S&S in terms of absolute strength, but S&S resembles more a sport where you are dealing with constantly changing angles of force and a much more dramatically changing relationship with the position of the kettlebell - for both the swings and the TGUs. Thus, S&S seems to activate our athletic instincts of timing, balance, alertness. Like the S&S book says, it's a lot like doing a Karate kata when you do TGUs and a lot like wrestling when you do swings.