all posts post new thread

Kettlebell S&S newbie query (Prying Goblet Squat)

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

DomOBOW

First Post
I'm a 34-year old male. 6'4 tall and about 75kg. Not got any muscle, or flexibility so having listened to Pavel being interviewed by Tim Ferriss picked up some kettlebells (8, 12, 16, 20kg) and a copy of Simple & Sinister.

I've got as far as exercise 1 in the warmup, the Prying Goblet Squat, of which I've included a video as requested.

I'm not good at understanding exactly, but it feels like when I slow down (about 10 degrees before parallel) my back is about straight. That seems to be my limit.

As you can see, I can not get to the point of wedging my elbows into my quads without either...
1) Heels coming off floor
2) Spine rounding.

What should I do?

@DomOBOW, a few suggestions:
--Use a heavier bell. The bell acts as a counterweight and a heavier weight will enable you to go deeper.
--You are trying to sit back into the squat, more like the hinge pattern from the deadlift or swing. Instead think about sitting DOWN between your feet. Drop your hips down rather than sitting back.
--Don't be afraid to let your knees move forward as much as necessary. Experiment with stance width and foot turnout to enable your knees to comfortably track your toes. Do not fight to keep your shins vertical and don't try to keep your weight back on your heels. Let the shins go forward and try to stay balanced evenly over your feet.
--Try pressing down with you elbows on TOP of your knees, while keeping your chest big, extending your head to the ceiling and imagining lengthening the distance between the crown of your head and your tailbone. Then relax and see if you can sink lower.

closer to your chest so that it doesn't pull you forward too much.

But you can also use the longer lever arm from holding the weight out in front to counterbalance so you can stay upright without falling backward.