all posts post new thread
Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Kettlebell noob

Level 1 Valued Member
Brand new to forum first post sorry if I'm not using proper ediqute. Really sorry if this has been addressed already.

So to get to the point with details to follow below. I have decided to add suitcase walk (farmer's walk with KB in one hand) at the end of my S&S regiment as a supplemental grip strength exercise. Any thoughts as to whether or not this is a good idea? I believe the manner in which I've implemented them is consistent with S&S philosophy and methodology.

Details
I have been training S&S for approximately 4 months. S&S marks my first honest attempt at strength training. I've progressed to 24kg TGU and can complete 2HSW with 24kg easily but, find myself stuck at 16kg with 1HSW. I believe my form is correct having read and watched any SF content on 1HSW form and technique I can find. I've come to believe the limiting factor is my grip. Last I tested myself I completed all 10 sets of 16kg 1HSW with good form in 5 minutes with little issue outside of mild to moderate burning sensation in my forearms. Attempts to complete 2 out of the 10 sets of 1HSW with 20kg leads to poor form given that the KB at the bottom of the swing feels like it is going to rip out of my hand (small hands unfortunately run in the family). This leads to the KB shifting in my hand which ultimately is a cascading effect to poor form. Also, possibly dumb question but, should I preform 5 sets with one arm than switch (1-5 right hand than 6-10 left hand) or as I've been doing switch hands between sets (1R 2L 3R 4L...)