all posts post new thread

Off-Topic Sauna

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)
What is the ideal duration to be in sauna?

I like to alternate hot sauna with cold water or outside air, maybe something like five minutes a time of each, for a total of three or four times of each. I haven't ever really timed the experience so it's surprisingly hard to say how long it takes. I suppose the whole ordeal takes about an hour or close to it.

I like to alternate hot sauna with cold water or outside air, maybe something like five minutes a time of each, for a total of three or four times of each. I haven't ever really timed the experience so it's surprisingly hard to say how long it takes. I suppose the whole ordeal takes about an hour or close to it.
Okay. The reason I ask is, I joined a commercial gym with such facilities. I am new to these stuffs. They have sauna (dry heat) and eucalyptus-infused steaming rooms. How do you suggest I incorporate into my training? Do I do sauna or steaming? Before or after training? If so, how long each...? Last night I did 10 minutes or so of steaming after training, it was new experience for me. I sweated a lot. I was hoping it helps with recovery.

In my experience most non-Finish people, including Swede's, sauna in the "wrong way". Too low heat and too long, like they're in a hot tub or something. The temperature should be at least 85 degrees Celsius/ 185 degrees Fahrenheit, preferably 90, and when you pore water on the hot stones it should "burn" your skin, in a good way...
When I am in France, it is almost impossible to find a real sauna. As you say, 90°C is a minimum, and it is rarely found in my native country.
But in central europe, where I live, it is more common to have real hot saunas with really cold bath, and people doing it the right way.

How do you suggest I incorporate into my training? Do I do sauna or steaming? Before or after training? If so, how long each...?