all posts post new thread

Second Wind Second Wind vs Wim Hof Method

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Brian T

Level 4 Valued Member
Certified Instructor
I’m a beginner with regards to breath work. I just started reading Wim Hof’s book and also have recently started getting Strong First emails regarding the Second Wind program. Are these two programs at odds with one another? Or are they two sides of the same coin? Thanks!

Curious about this myself. I’m a big fan of Wim Hof breathing for recovery and really curious about what Second Wind would add to this.

I’m a beginner with regards to breath work. I just started reading Wim Hof’s book and also have recently started getting Strong First emails regarding the Second Wind program. Are these two programs at odds with one another? Or are they two sides of the same coin? Thanks!
As someone who attended to SW, having some experience with Buteyko and who practices Wim Hof breathing several times per week I can say that the theory of Wim Hof is pretty much the opposite from the theory of Pavel and his Second Wind course. With Wim Hof it‘s all about overbreathing/hyperventilation and THEN doing the breath holds. Pavel‘s theory is that this is a bad thing.
You can read about it:

I still practice Wim Hof breathing because of it lets me sleep like a baby and I love that deep, deep relaxation I experience when I do it. But to be honest, it MAY not be the most healthy thing to do on a daily basis in high doses. But I am no scientist.

Although a delicate and highly subjective question, do you think the course is worth the asking price? I'm still not done with The Oxygen Advantage book and probably have some material in there to keep me busy for some time.