all posts post new thread

Bodyweight SFB preparation

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

jef

I am a student of strength.
Elite Certified Instructor
To bodyweight enthusiasts in general, and SBF instructors in particular,

I will attend SFB in December in Italy.
I am curious to hear about the way you, as certified SFB instructors, prepared for the event.

To put things in context, I am familiar with StrongFirst cert/event.
I am currently SFG1; attended SFL, though my weak bench press still prevents me to earn the certification; PlanStrong - excellent experience; I am also a Flexible steel L2 instructor and FMS1.

I will finish a cycle of PlanStrong on bench presses, squats and KB presses the first week of November, then focus only on the SFB prep for the remaining 4 weeks until the cert weekend.
4 weeks may seem little, but StrongFirst is about principles, not tools. I already have a good view of those with SFG, SFL, and two levels of Flexible steel. The 4 weeks are destined to improve the specific skills, not discover the technique of high tension.

The SFB teaches the progression on 6 skills, as shown here: SFB Bodyweight Certification Information
One-Arm One-Leg Pushup, Wall-Supported Handstand Pushup, Tactical Pull-up, Hanging Leg Raise, Front Lever, Pistol.

My plan is not finalized yet, but overall, what I intend to do in November is:

Pistol: I can do solid pistols on both sides. I have tested pistol up to a 16kg KB a few month ago. I am thinking of training them like I would my squat, with a PlanStrong approach, to solidify the bodyweight pistol, but keep progressing with loaded ones. Of course, I won't do any other type of squat during this time.