all posts post new thread

Kettlebell SFG 1 Prep (Thier's SFG Question #3843)

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Tjerr

Level 6 Valued Member
Certified Instructor
Hi guys,

Another question for my SFG1 Certification.

The last couple of weeks I was doing RoP and last week I did 5 ladders of 5 (75 reps per arm) with 24. But it completely smoked my shoulders. Couldn’t do the recorvery (5 ladders of 3) after 2 days rest and not even after 4 days rest.

As I’m a fitness professional myself and only work with kettlebells in my sessions with clients. I notice that a couple of clients are comming very close to my own training weights, 1 guy even surpassed them. With my clients I work only in movements, like so:

*example*

· Push: let’s say clean and press

· Pull: Renegade row

· Squat: double front squat

· Hinge: single leg deadlift

· Lunge: suitcase lunge

· Rotation: figure 8

· Anti-rotation: One arm swings

· Loaded Carry: bottom up carry

I always start with a strength exercise and finish with a finisher, like swings, snatches, complexes. They're always doing 1 exercise per human body movement, including the strength and finisher.

Grind exercises are 3 sets of 5 reps and ballistics in 3 x 10. Strength exercises are one of the movements (training 1 push, training 2 pull, training 3 squat, etc), or whatever is good for them. Mostly 3 x 1+1 get ups or 5 x 3+3 (clean & press) or 5 x 5 (squats). Finisher are mostly ballistics like swings, snatches, clean & presses etc.

The question:

As I notice my clients getting better, I am wondering if I should switch to this style of training in regarding to my own training for SFG 1. I’m planning to start the prep course on januari 1st. But want to get a bit stronger before. That’s the reason I’m doing RoP now.