all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Should I always brace my abs?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

j1369330

Level 1 Valued Member
During a hip hinge, should my abs be braced throughout the movement or only after the hip drive when I reach vertical and forcefully mimic the 'plank' position? I'm new to kettlebell training so I want to make sure I'm swinging properly as I have tweaked my back in the past.

I've noticed that my belly wants to go soft when I hip hinge (especially unloaded, as when bending down to pick something up) even though my posterior erectors are strongly engaged. I am wondering if this is normal or is it bad movement pattern that I've developed over the years? If I consciously think to do so I can remain braced throughout the hinge. I know that I lack some thoracic extension so I'm worried that I may be hyper extending through the lumbar (soft abs) to compensate.

If helpful I can upload a swing video for review. Thanks in advance!

Brace at all times in the swing. We call the skill of learning to brace in this way "breathing behind the shield" - you still need to move and breath, but you want to stay tight.

I've noticed that my belly wants to go soft when I hip hinge (especially unloaded, as when bending down to pick something up) even though my posterior erectors are strongly engaged. I am wondering if this is normal or is it bad movement pattern that I've developed over the years?
Forgive a somewhat lengthy response here but this issue hits close to home for me.

There is an important distinction to be made between normal movements and loaded ones. The latter can be either with weight or through purposefully reduced leverage. In most cases, you do not want to brace when you bend down to pick up something if it's light and you will likely exhale. I recall Grey Cook saying one time "You don't want to hardstyle tying your shoes."