all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed Should I start using chalk?

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)
Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

MattM

SFG1
This is going to sound really stupid. I've been training seriously on and off for the past 10 years or. I've never used chalk. While doing 1 hand swings with a 40kg tonight I realized that it might be time.

1. Does it make that much of a difference?

2. I train in my living room. If I was careful could I not make a mess?

3. Any types and/or brands better than others?

@MattM, the only way to know is to try it. My guess? If you haven't used chalk in 10 years, don't start now. Work on your grip and it will improve - be patient, don't overtrain it, and do some swings with a 48 kg.

-S-

I use chalk and there is no going back for me.

I use it sparingly and it drifts everywhere. My basement is covered and when I use my grippers in the living room I put newspaper down; it still gets everywhere.

There is only magnesium carbonate. All sports chalks are the same. Never tried liquid chalk though.

Thanks for the replies.

@Steve Freides it's not so much grip strength as it is conditions. Sometimes my hands just will not stay dry. If the temp and humidity are just right and I have nice manicured calluses I'm good to go.

I like "Firm Grip" powder from Cramer Sports Medicine. It comes in a shaker bottle so it isn't quite as messy as chalk. A small amount goes a long way. The only down side is I think it dries out the skin a bit, I've had calluses crack which I think was caused by the chalk but I don't have proof that's what caused it. For long swing sessions I also use sweat bands on the wrists. The terry cloth kind worn by baseball players.