all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Shoulder mobility for TGU

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Kai333

Level 1 Valued Member
Hey guys, I've been doing the Simple and Sinister program for a few weeks and my shoulder has never felt right during the stand up portion of the get up. I do not think I have the proper mobility to push my shoulder back to my ear without unpacking it slightly or hyperextending my back. What are some drills/stretches that would help with this?

I have had success with using a foam roller in the child’s pose:

Then foam rolling my lats.

Foam roll the lats (under the scapula and right in the back of your armpit). And as @offwidth suggested, arm bars. I'd also add crooked arm bars.

I was just looking into this today. I have a left shoulder imbalance I am working on.

Arm bars and waiter walks with a very light weight. See a physio for pain of course.

This is my personal list because they are both easy and effective and don't require bands, equipment or lying down.

I have learned that the shoulder like the hip is a complicated and we can't really separate the overhead shoulder from the scapula, lat, and thoratic mobility. I find it better to do them throughout the day rather than a special mobility session, which I never seem to keep up consistently. Or fit them in for rest periods for lower body work. I don't believe in the physio model where isolated corrective exercises a few minutes a few times a week are doing to do much. A GTG approach where you do them daily and frequently seems necessary (like stretching in general).

As I found out with the military barbell press in my own experience and Gray Cook's admonition not to load disfunction, if you don't have basic shoulder health, you probably should not be pressing heavy or in volume. I got my FMS screen left shoulder from 1 to 2 which is normal (out of 3) by doing corrective exercises. Here they are.