all posts post new thread

Old Forum Signing up - Which national certification?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Norski

Level 5 Valued Member
Greetings comrades =) I have been posting on the old forum since 2008 and have been in love with the RKC system for nearly as long.  I saw on the schedule that SF is coming to my hometown and I'd like to finally pull the trigger and get my cert.

My question is:  What will I need in terms of nationally recognized credentials to instruct?  Will the SFG 1 be enough? Or should I work for the NCSM-CSCS as well?  Would other options be better suited?

Which national certification you need to instruct matters only to those who hire you.  If you are on your own, then your SF certification should be sufficient.  If you are planning to work for a local gym, YMCA, etc., then ask them directly which certifications they recognize.

Around the time I got my RKC, I also got the NSCA CPT - I bought the self-study materials, took the test, passed, and was then able to be a trainer at my local YMCA because they recognized NSCA certs.  I picked that one because, at least at the time, it seemed well respected and widely accepted - I don't know if that's still the case.   To me, though, the NSCA-CPT was just a piece of paper - what I taught came from what I learned at the kettlebell certification.

-S-
Steve Freides, StrongFirst Team Leader
http://www.kbnj.com
http://RideChickens.blogspot.com

Oh sweet! I wasn't sure if one needed to be nationally certified for legal reasons or not.  That streamlines things a lot