all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Something's wonky in my upper back during swings.

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

SeanTastic

First Post
Hi. I'm Sean. I've been doing S&S for a few months now (kettlebell lifting for a year or so) and am ready to transition from 24k to 32k. I purchased the bell and once it finally arrived I ignored Pavel's wise words of starting slowly and tried to just jump right to it. By the 4th set on my left side my right upper back in the area of my shoulder blade was in moderate pain. I finished the workout, took a few days off and figured I was good to go. I tried to do swings with a 24k bell today and bam same thing only maybe a bit worse. This time from the first set. It seems to worsen at the bottom of the swing before going between my knees.

So now for my questions. Any rehab suggestions other than take some time off, mobility work and start slower next time?

Also I'm afraid my swings maybe aren't picture perfect and I'm stabilizing my left swing with my right upper back due to a mechanical error.

Thanks SF community. I look forward to your insight.

post a video of your swing if you can do them at all... get checked out by a doc.

Could be a trigger point but better to be checked by a doctor first.

Sean,

I'm not a doc, but pain like you describe is not a good sign. I would strongly advise that you stop and take some time off to make sure you heal.

Consider this: if you pull a muscle in your back, you will be sidelined for weeks if not months. That will be much worse for your training than taking a couple of weeks off now. (Sadly, I speak from experience. If you hurt your back, you will be amazed at how many daily activities will be affected. Believe me, a muscle sprain stinks big time and you should avoid it at all costs.)