all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Start Kettlebell journey for beginners

Forceberg

Level 1 Valued Member
Hello everyone!

I am a totally beginner of kettlebell and I need a good beginner program to follow.

I have an idea if I should follow Pavel Tsatsoulines workout Simple & Sinister.
What do you think about this?

Here on Strongfirst I have read a little about the workout:

KETTLEBELLS STRONGFIRST: Get Into Your Best Fighting Shape By Pavel Tsatsouline​

Can you recommend this workout for a beginner? Is it a full program to follow or workouts to choose from?

The most important for me right now is to find a beginner workout/ workout program that I can follow for a decent amount of time and then progress and continue to more harder workouts. To learn from the ground and progress.

Thank you!

also welcome…
As Mark says… find an instructor if you can, or depending upon where you are located SF offers a one day KB course which is worth way more than the money you would invest.

Agreeing with the posters before me, I wouldn't really start with the idea of a program. I would start with the idea of learning the movements. Spend plenty of time learning how to do a turkish get up. Learn how to do a good swing. Just learning the exercises properly will build strength. Carry your kettlebells. Carry it suitcase style. In the rack. Overhead.

Depending on your movement background, you might pick them up quickly or it might take time. But take your time! There's no rush.

Going to workshop or working with an instructor will absolutely be worth it, but don't wait, start practicing now and once you can work with someone they will refine your form and help it all come together.

Once you can do the movements comfortably with some weight, then I'd move into Simple and Sinister and spend plenty of time getting strong there.

Thanks for the warm welcome and for the information!