all posts post new thread

Bodyweight Structuring muscle-up practice in a workout

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

JamesO

Level 5 Valued Member
Hi everyone!

My current bodyweight goal is to do a strict muscle-up on the rings, and I could use some help getting there! I'd love to hear your ideas and thoughts regarding progressions and structuring them into my week. I've never worked on muscle-ups before, so I don't have a very strong library of progression and ideas for practicing them, but I've been enjoying it. I'll list all of my current goals below so you have some context for the way I'm structuring my week.

- Mon has a barbell squat and KB snatch focus with some swing technique and pull-up practice before squats. 5/3/1 for squats, and one of Geoff Neupert's snatch plans.

- Wed emphasizes pushing and pulling before snatching. I do TGU's and swing technique practice before doing supersets of false-grip pull-ups and ring dips. This is where I think I need the most help in structuring the muscle-up practice.
  • This past week I did five supersets of as many hollow-grip pull-ups as I could, briefly resting for a minute, then performing as many ring dips as possible.
  • I'm not pulling myself up high enough to practice transitioning to the dip yet. I pull my self up until my chin is around the top of the ring. I do a jumping muscle-up to get to the dips. Meaning I start in a false-grip pull-up position, jump up, transition, and find myself in a good dipping position.
- Fri is a rowing or weighted walking day.

- Sat is a weightlifting day following the classic Joe Mills 20/20 program. Clean and Jerk only.
  • Depends on how I'm feeling on either day.
Current goals
  • Barbell: 305 lb squat, 220 lb clean and jerk
  • Bodyweight: Strict muscle-up on the rings
  • Kettlebell/Conditioning: SFG snatch test
  • Achievement: Hiking Half Dome in July

Last edited: