all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed Suggestions for mobility/flexibility programming

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)
Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

mikead98

First Post
Hello. This is my first time posting here. I was hoping I could get some suggestions on programming for mobility/flexibility. I am a 41 year old male, 5'10", 195 lbs. I have been using kettlebells off and on for several years. Pavel's material has helped me a lot with both kettle bell and barbell lifting. My sports history includes running, rugby, BJJ and lifting. Over the last couple years I had two surgeries on my left knee. The second one was due to the first one not being performed correctly. I gained a fair amount of weight while on crutches for several months, but have lost it. I have full medical clearance to do any physical activity. For the past 6 months I have been using kettle bells, running and swimming and just completed a Tough Mudder as my comeback activity. While training I noticed my lack of mobility and flexibility was a problem. I have never been terribly flexible and being crutches for so long greatly exacerbated the issue. I would like to address the issue in a systematic way. I have been successful creating lifting programs for myself using waves, ladders, etc. The same applies to endurance. I have not has the same success with mobility/flexibility. This is not due to a lack of resources as I have material from Pavel, Steve Maxwell, Scott Sonnon, Dick Hartzell and others. I believe the problem is there is so much information I am having difficulty winnowing it down to something simple and effective. For general fitness, I am doing the following.
Workout A - S&S warm up, some TGUs, KB complexes, swings
Workout B - Barbell Deadlift, weight dips, incline press, Full Contact Twist
I am also GTGing pull ups.