all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Swing and TGU Form Check

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Berserker

First Post
Hello all,

I just picked up a copy of Simple and Sinister and can't wait to get started. I am a complete beginner and any advice on my form would be much appreciated.

General information: I am a healthy 32y male; 5'8"; 170lb; body comp unknown; muscles and joints are in good working order.

Sports/competition history: I ran sprints in track during high school and played football as well. Fort the past two years I have trained BJJ, but I have been out for months since COVID hit. I plan on training BJJ for life.

Goals: Long-term I want to stay strong and healthy for BJJ and for myself. I plan on incorporating the Naked Warrior with Simple and Sinister and I would like to use these as my strength program alongside my BJJ training. Currently, I would like to become more flexible (I am also working on the Relax Into Stretch program), complete the Simple challenge, and work my way up to perform one pistol squat and one OAPU.

Please let me know if I am missing anything and thanks in advance.

Here are the links to my TGU and Swing:

TGU - When in the 1/2 kneeling position, keep your big toe engaged with the deck (in dorsiflexion) for stability. You are practicing with a light bell now, but as you the bell goes up in weight you will need that stability from both of your feet to perform strong, safe reps.

Swing - Be sure to practice with and without the stack of books. Do two sets with and then two sets without, etc...This will help you ease into improving your hip and T-spine mobility.

There is a chance your BJJ practice has resulted in some limited T-Spine mobility and tightness in your shoulders; pecs.