all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Swing technique check (movie)

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Piotr

Level 1 Valued Member
I am a beginner starting S&S program. Please verify my swing technique. The move feels quite natural to me. Am I doing it right?

Here is Youtube Video:

Well I'll give it a shot. The main things I see:
- the bell looks really low at the bottom, because you are breaking,sinking backward with the hips too early. Wait for the bell longer. Think of catching it with your hips.
- keep the lats engaged(pull the shoulders away from your ears), especially at the bottom. A little more lat will help you float the bell better meaning it won't be so far away from you at the top and it will be headed straight up and not be pulling you forwards.

Keep it up!

Thanks Travis, this two points (hips breaking point and lats engagement) make sense to me - I'll try to experiment with them during my next training.

There's one thing I recognize simply because it's something I've personally been working on. I think your upper body comes down to far. Your shoulder is at the same height from the floor as your glutes at the bottom. The good news? This change will actually make the swing easier (unlike other changes that sometimes make the swing harder for a while). Notice that after your rear end stops moving back, you continue to fold forward. Once you have loaded your hips by sinking back into them as far as you will, the extra range of motion is really just stretching the hamstrings more which isn't necessary (any SFG's reading, please correct this if its wrong).
I'm not skilled enough to feel comfortable giving positive feedback that is accurate, but to my limited experience trying to show other people the swing, that is very good and crisp. You are on the right track and since it feels natural, you will probably respond to cues well. Keep at it!