all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Tennis elbow after S&S

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Anders

Level 6 Valued Member
Hi,

I am a 34 year old male who have been playing around With kettlebells for around 10 years, without having enough stamina to stay on one program for a long time. Last Autumn I decided to change this.

Therefore I have been doing S&S almost every day for around 3 months. I am currently using the 32 kilos for 6 sets, and the 24 kilo for 4 sets in the swing. In TGU I am using the 24 kilo for two sets, and the 28 kilo for Three sets.

Everything is going fine and I 'm getting a fair amount of progress. Lately I have however been feeling some slight tennis elbow pain. The pain does not bother me when I am doing one handed or two handed swings, nor when I am doing TGU. I only feel the pain when I am pushing on the tendon. I also feel some slight discomfort when I am writing on my computer.

So I have two questions:

1) What should I do know to get rid of the pain ?

2) What can I do longterm to prevent myself from getting injured again later.

All replies are most welcome.

Anders

2) Remember - no bending in the elbows when swinging.

AND when doing TGUs. It is very easy to fool yourself into thinking your arm is locked out, when it is actually only ALMOST locked out.

Get in the habit of frequently checking your lockout by contracting your triceps throughout the TGU. It's very easy to lose it when you are focusing on other aspects of the movement.

Last edited:
G
AND when doing TGUs. It is very easy to fool yourself into thinking your arm is locked out, when it is actually only ALMOST locked out.
Good point. I will also mention that you need to watch your wrists on TGU's too. Letting the kettlebell bend your wrist back can cause elbow problems too. Along with the arm lock out, pay attention to your wrist integrity.