all posts post new thread

Bodyweight Tension during Pistol

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

mikhael

Level 9 Valued Member
Strongfirst Community, how to solve a problem with tension in lats during Pistol? I'm starting from one leg elevated, bracing ABS, tensioning lats, and all other high tension techniques, but on the way down tension in my lats is off. How do you perform Pistol while keeping the fired all the time?

Reactions: Ege
Hi Michael, I am very new to high tension techniques and trying to understand the very basics. But with an attempt to be helpful, I will throw in my two cents however I might be wrong totally.

I try to solve this issue by holding a counter weight. When I have a counterweight, I “squeeze ” the weight to engage my lats. ( I can not do this w good form at all but am playing with “this” trying to learn)

I am looking forward to read expert advices on this thread and will be more than happy if I get corrected.

I was doing Pistols with counter weight when I was still learning it. Now, when my form is pretty solid I don't need it. However, you solution seems to be good. Thanks for the response.

Reactions: Ege
Ege's answer is great - counterweight indeed helps to keep tension.However, are you losing the tension at one particular point of your pistol? Maybe it's worth trying isometric contractions in that position, or around (higher and lower) that. You can even employ some Sanchin-like breathing in that position.

Why would you need or want tense lats for a pistol?

IMO, the pistol is a drill that works best with the least possible level of extraneous tension. In other words, the least tension necessary to complete the lift in a stable and controlled fashion. Excessive tension is counterproductive.
+1 . . .