all posts post new thread

Kettlebell The kettlebell is a cruel teacher

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Sean M

Level 7 Valued Member
I'm brand new to kettlebells. I have no strength training background. Fewer than 100 swings in my lifetime.

Pulled by lower back out this morning in the 12th swing of the day. I know exactly what happened - I didn't load my hamstrings on the backswing (lost focus on keeping back straight and chest out), and didn't fully extend the hips. I realized a nano-second too late - the bell went up and my lower back bore the full counter-force of the bell swing. Boy, if you don't keep proper form you sure find out quick!

Doing stretches throughout the day to recover. Planning my next training session for Monday night, so about 60 hours of down time.

Will drill hip hinges, deadlifts, and hikes prior to my next full swing set to get the movement down. Being brand new to this, I don't want to ingrain bad form and have recurring injuries dissuade me from continuing.

Anyone else get "punished" by their KB for sloppy form?

Moving weight you can't control with good form is not a teacher, just an accident waiting to happen. Do you have the book Simple& Sinister? Any other good materials or is there an SFG instructor near you? Those are real "teachers." There's a progression to learning how to swing properly, starting with placement exercises, learning how to hinge your hips properly, deadlifting, and partial swings. Take each step in sequence and internalize them well before moving onto the next. If it takes a couple or few weeks, it's still well worth it!