all posts post new thread

The Little Engine That Could

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Groove Greaser

Level 4 Valued Member
Hello there. I'm Daniel. I'll be 35 at the end of this month. I'm 6'2" and weight a little less than 180 pounds. I'm a web designer and have a sedentary desk job (though we are all provided with motorized standing desks). I've been very active most of my life with an emphasis on cardio. A few years ago I experienced a health crisis that led to a very lengthy sedentary period. I've gotten that sorted out now and I'm here to put in work and gain some strength.

I've recently been greasing the groove with pull ups (band assisted), pushups, squats (with 24kg kettlebell), and leg raises on rings. Before that I was consistently doing HIIT exercises each morning, but it was too much and I was often tired at work.

Injuries
I had a shoulder injury from BJJ that I only recently got resolved. The issue turned out to be a spasm in my trapezius and was "solved" with an application of dry needle therapy. Before this treatment any significant shoulder exercise would lead to renewed spams and stiffness. I still need to baby it a little and am planning on progressing very slowly and carefully.

Other Considerations
I have Celiac disease (this is a recent development and the health crisis I referred to earlier). I don't absorb nutrients as efficiently as I used to (though getting better through diet) and there are other minor accompanying problems. In practical terms I can't push myself to the limits as I used to and I now focus on strength and cardio training that allows me to maintain energy.

Other Programs/Methodologies
  • Maffetone Method - I try to make certain my heart rate doesn't go over 180 minus age for almost all workouts. This leaves me with fuel in the tank for the day.