all posts post new thread

Nutrition The more LDL, or “bad cholesterol,” you have, the more muscle you build during resistance training.

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)
Assuming you mean the kind of meat you buy in the supermarket that comes 'ready cooked'...you just take it out of the packet and eat it...

I was taught this stuff was to be avoided at all costs...I thought it counted as 'processed meat' and carries all kinds of health risks.

Would very much value your (and any other knowledgeable people) opinion on this?

It would replace some of the considerable amounts of tinned (canned) small fish that I currently consume, as I can't cook meat where I'm living (long story).
I am not an expert, so this is only the limited knowledge I have. I think normally people that would advise to stay away from packaged deli meats are saying so because of the high amount of sodium used. If you are not on a sodium restricted diet, there shouldn't be any reason you would have to avoid all deli meats. Generally, the concern about high sodium and high fats that are in these meats is outdated and bad science to begin with.

Of course, that is different if you are a pregnant woman, as there is still a concern about Listeria, but I'm assuming that's not what you are referring to.

Dave Feldman is an engineer who played around with cholesterol tests quite a bit to see how they were manipulated by diet. Here is one of his early videos:

I find his work interesting (and it makes me think that one test of cholesterol is almost like getting on a scale once; that one measurement does not say as much as multiple measurements).

EDIT: I see that @kennycro@@aol.com mentioned this already

Assuming you mean the kind of meat you buy in the supermarket that comes 'ready cooked'...you just take it out of the packet and eat it...

Ready Cooked

Yes, it is ready cook, ready to eat out of the package.