all posts post new thread

The Simple Life

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

FitMEDIC

Level 1 Valued Member
Hello everyone!

My name is Tyler and I have been a member of the forum off and on for a few years. I have always loved the simplicity yet effectiveness of the S&S program. I was very close to achieving the Simple goals until I began to have plaguing shoulder issues that I still struggle with. I absolutely love the TGU and it is my favorite exercise. It has been difficult lately due to RTC issues so I am now starting over to retrain my shoulder and hopefully rehab it. I can't wait to achieve the strength and stability I once had.

I am a Paramedic so I am looking to enhance my general physical preparedness to perform my duties and protect myself from injury. I will do this with S&S. I also like to participate in obstacle course races and would like to become a Tactical Medic so I will also be doing LSS cardio to build a strong base of endurance. I plan on following Andrew Read's "Run Strong" program for this. I would also like to incorporate KB carry variations to improve work capacity and work under load.

Goals:
1. To improve overall mobility and stability to move well and live pain free. Primary focus on thoracic mobility, hip mobility, and ankle mobility. Improve left shoulder stability.

2. Achieve the Simple goals of 1-Handed Swings and TGUs with 32 kg KB.

3. Finish in under 1 hour and 15 minutes in my next Spartan Sprint (3-5 miles)

3. Become certified as an S&S KB instructor.

It has been about a month since I have done any form on training so I am starting light and will progress patiently.

11/22/16

Warmup: Thoracic Extensions, Thoracic Rotations from Quad, Hamstring stretch, Hip Flexor stretch, ASLR drills, prying squats, and halos.

Workout:
2-Handed KB swings with 24 kg for 5x10. (10 reps EMOM for 5 minutes)

TGUS 5x1 each side at 16 kg. Moving slowly and ensuring good form.

Notes: