all posts post new thread

Programming Improv Thoughts on how I overtrained my lower back

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Adachi

Level 7 Valued Member
MY HISTORY
I'm still young in training and ignorant of many ideas in physical training. I know about some kettlebell movements from trying it and using breadcrumbs left by SFGs who left behind a decentralized encyclopedic library of tutorial content. I used S&S to achieve a base of strength, I dipped my toes into power to the people to increase my strength base. I used Q&D many times to at least maintain my situation during some tough times.

For context, I have been training for a few years. My High-Water-Marks of strength are currently...
  • Deadlift 365lbs
  • KB strict press 40kg 2R, 1L
  • Snatch 32KG ~5RM
  • Swing 10x10 - 40KG
  • TGU 32KG 5L, 5R
My Cycles, since achieving Timeless Simple have generally alternated between Q&D snatching and strength routines like a Press + FrontSquat, or Deadlift & Press; like in Power to the People. Early on, with only kettlebells, I started out by racking my 32+24kg bells for 3x3 and worked my way up to 5x5. And, I worked up from pressing the 24kg for 5x5, and the 32kg for singles, to pressing the 32kg for 5x5. And, when I got my barbell, I started deadlifting, and I had a mild experience with Zercher squats(1 cycle). My Kettlebell strength training was all done in grease-the-groove fashion, and now that I think of it, I should probably take a moment to acknowledge a lesson I learned: There is no such thing as too much rest.

I've turned back to Q&D several times. And, so far, each time I get stronger off of a strength cycle I find that my Q&D sessions improve in strange ways. the sets become more difficult, the inter-set recovery can feel less complete, but the inter-series recovery feels more complete.