all posts post new thread

Other/Mixed Thoughts on my summer training plan (prepping for a relay race)

Other strength modalities (e.g., Clubs), mixed strength modalities (e.g., combined kettlebell and barbell), other goals (flexibility)
Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Questionfear

Level 4 Valued Member
So I stupidly/overenthusiastically committed to running a relay in August. I don't think I'll be doing more than 10 miles over the course of the day, but it will definitely be in 2-3 chunks, and I want to get my cardio in good enough shape to pull 11 min miles as my easy pace (I'm assuming since it's NJ and August, it's going to be HOT). For background, while I've been pretty lazy when it comes to running, I have run several half marathons in the past, so I'm not a total newbie, just out of shape.

At the same time, I'm going to have all new scheduling restraints because my spouse and I are splitting so I'll have kiddo 50% of the time. This is great but since kiddo comes first, I won't have a ton of time for runs when he's with me, and I probably won't drag him to childcare at the gym more than I have to. Plus I don't want to drop my heavy lifting in favor of all cardio.

So here's what I'm roughly thinking:
Days with no kiddo:
5/3/1 at the gym followed by 20-30 minutes of treadmill time (either 2-3 miles at an easy pace or 2 on/2 off speedwork)
Starting in July-2x per week I'll try to do gym in the AM and an outside run at night, no more than 2ish miles each time, just to get used to running 2x in one day.
Once per week a long slower run, starting at probably 3 miles and aiming to get up to 6 or so.

Days with kiddo:
Gym if time allows
If time doesn't allow, home workouts like S&S and hopefully rowing (hoping to pick up a rower for my new place, since I enjoy the rower at the gym and it's the most compact bang for my buck cardio option).