all posts post new thread

Kettlebell To wave the load or not? A contrary point of view from Brooks Kubik

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Marius_Lefter

Level 4 Valued Member
Hi all. I am reading a book by Brooks Kubik, lawyer by trade and a very accomplished lifter by vocation. Look after his credentials to know more about him.

The book I am reffering to is called Dinosaur Training. A lot of his ideas resemble the Strong First system and principles. But in one point he is very different: he does not believe in periodization, waving the load, peaking. Over and over again he is repeating that periodization is a waste of valuable training time and energy. He says that periodization is keeping you busy without becoming as big and strong as you can become. As a very accomplished lifter this sounds very strange.

He argues that periodization is for beginners, maybe intermediate level lifters, but not more.

A fragment from the book where he is advocating heavy singles: "[...] plan to train with heavy weights week after week, for a long long time. Forget about 'periodization' programs, conditioning phases or anything similar. Forget about programs where you take 10 or 12 weeks to work up to a single rep effort, then drop down and take another 10 or 12 weeks to get back to another single rep effort. Get to the point where you are training hard and heavy on a consistent basis for a long, long time and watch what happens to your body. A couple of years of heavy singles will transform your body."

What do you guys think of this?

Louis Simmons seems to be having decent results with max efforts each week. Daily dose deadlifts work. The body adapts to what you ask of it. Ask it to do 3x10, then 4x8, then 5x5, then 5x3, then 6x1 over 12 weeks and at the end of 12 weeks you'll be able to do 6x1. Ask the body to do 6x1, then 6x1, then 6x1, then 6x1 over 12 weeks and at the end of 12 weeks you'll be able to do 6x1.