all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Too much pressing?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

njrick1

Level 5 Valued Member
Hello all,

I have been working on the ROP for two years and have had my form checked by multiple SFGs. I am generally just training for fun. I have a 32kg and 40kg kettlebell so as per advice on this form, I am adding the 40kg one rung at a time. I am currently using the 40kg for the first three rungs and the 32kg for the fourth and fifth rung. I am starting to notice soreness in my elbow joints and that I am no longer finishing my training with "gas in the tank." These seem to be warning signs to back off.

Since longevity is one of my main goals, I am considering shifting my focus to S&S (using the 48kg, crawls and carries on variety days) either temporarily or indefinitely. Another option would be to back off weight with the ROP and continue progressing from there. Any thoughts or other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Last edited:
I have done two cycles of RoP so far (16 and 20kg) and found it necessary and helpful to do something else after reaching 5 ladders to 5 rungs. S&S is a good choice for 2+ weeks (with some low volume pressing like 5 ladders of 1,2), enough to feel good again. If you start RoP with your 5-8RM at 3 ladders to 3 on the first heavy day, you have a month of much lower volume (than where you ended the last cycle) to recover while maintaining the groove.

Most people start to run into problems with the 32kg. I've heard it has something to do with the size of the ball of the bell and the pressing path.

I favor doing something else once in a while.

Your elbows need much more time to adapt to 40kg compared to 32kg. Which is your goal bell ?(half bw)

Doing the same routine for years is admirable. The rate of your gains will slow down. Allow your body more time.

+++1 for 2 week break from ROP. Minimum !