all posts post new thread

TSC Toshner Program

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Dan25

Level 4 Valued Member
Hello Everyone,

Just a little by way of introduction: I've been working out with KB's for about 3 years, but new to StrongFirst (The owner of the gym I go to is RKC from many years ago - "before they went soft" in his words.) Prior to that I was a barbell guy for 15 + years. (I may have dabbled in CF for a year or so as well....)
I need something to train for rather than just "working out," so I'm very interested in the TSC. I love to deadlift, I love snatching and I'm decent at pull-ups. My tentative plan is to do the TSC in April and maybe again in October as a novice, then I'll cross into the master category for April 2019. There are a couple gyms not too far from my home that host the TSC, so should be no problem.
There is a ton of great advice on here about training for the TSC and I'm very interested in Toshner's program, but I have what I hope are a couple easy questions: he refers a couple times to "the 80% rule." I can't find a definition of that anywhere? Also, what are accelerated eccentric swings and dead swings referred to in weeks 11 and 12?
My apologies if these are repetitive questions, but I couldn't find the answers with the search function.

Dan

Welcome!

In accelerated eccentric swings you actively swing the bell back to between the legs, as if a partner were pushing the bell down at the top of the swing (like you would push a kid in a swing set).

Dead stop swings are where you do “10 sets of 1”, or return the bell to the starting position for each rep. It eliminates momentum from loading up your legs for the snap back up.

I followed a slightly modified version of the plan by the gym where I participated in my first TSC this fall; it was a great plan.

@Sean M
already answered the 2 questions about the swing versions.

"the 80% rule."