Training for Spartan Sprint

Discussion in 'Other' started by Stu, Aug 11, 2019.

1. Stu

Stu Still New to StrongFirst Forum

Hi everyone, I am new to the forum here after reading S&S, ETK, Q&D and ROTK. Looks like this is a great place with a wealth of knowledge and resources sufficient to keep me busy for a long time!!

I have a Spartan Sprint coming up in 5 weeks and wanted to get some feedback on my training plan.

A little background - I'm 35, 182cm, 11%bf, resting HR 52-56. I have been training solidly for the past 2 years mainly focussing on Calisthenics (strength focus rather than skill). For the past 6 weeks I have been running S&S and I'm just about to start adding in some 32kg sets on both the swing and get up. For the past month, I have also been doing 3-4 LSS runs per week at 50-70% MHR for mixed durations of 30 - 60 mins.

With only 5 weeks remaining, I figure I should really start to focus my training a little, it's only the sprint race but regardless, I would like to do my best effort and I have a pretty strong competitive streak. Here is my plan, taken from various sources including threads and articles here on SF. Open to suggestions on tweaking based on people's experience.

I will run the following two circuits once each per week:

Circuit A (3-5) rounds
    5 x Double Clean and Push Press (re clean each rep)
    10 x Heavy Swings (2H)
    5-8 x Explosive Pullups
    1 x TGU per side
    10 x Goblet Sq
    60s Sandbag Carry

Grip Finisher - Hang for 30s then 1 pullup, repeat until I can't

Circuit B (3-5) rounds
    5 x C&P R then L
    10 x Swings R then L
    10 x Towel Pullups
    10 x Power Pushups
    60s on Monkey Bars
    60s Farmers Walk

Crawling for 3 to 5 mins

Schedule:
    Mon - Circuit A
    Tue - LSS fun run - 3 mile slow jog with kettlebell in rucksack. Every 7 min alternate between Swings, Burpees and Pushups
    Wed - 100 Swings & 10 TGUs S&S style
    Thu - Circuit B
    Fri - Fast Tempo Run - 5k @ 80-85% HR