all posts post new thread

Training Plan and Log - Post Stroke

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

SammyBrown

Level 1 Valued Member
Putting together a summary of my current fitness, well-being plan post-stroke and thought I’d start a training log.

Background:

I am a 36yo male who has been quite active most of my life. I suffered a stroke in mid-2015 and am putting together a plan to stay active and healthy into older age as I also had the birth of my little girl 6 months after my stroke!

I have a history of training martial arts (Muay Thai and BJJ) but since the birth of my little girl I have decided to prioritise spending my evenings with the family (I really miss BJJ though!).

I am a social worker and work 4 days per week. I am out quite a bit of the working day but spend quite a bit of time at my desk (just got a standing desk and love it).

My routine goals are to:

- Rehabilitate and develop my motor skills
- Build lasting strength
- Keep me mobile and playful as I age
- Get me moving everyday
- Allow time and adaptability to fit around my work and family life
- Support my sleep schedule and mental health
- Encourage social interaction

Weekly exercise schedule:

Monday:
6am Simple & Sinister – 7pm Yoga

Tuesday:
6am Simple & Sinister – 7pm GMB Rings Free Program

Wednesday
6pm Group Mountain Bike Ride

Thursday
6am Simple & Sinister – Pre-bed Kit Laughlin Full Stretch Routine

Friday
6am Simple & Sinister

Saturday
7am GMB Rings Free Program – Pre-bed Kit Laughlin Limbering Session

Sunday
7am Group Mountain Bike Ride – Pre-bed Kit Laughlin Limbering Session

Links to my fitness programs:

Simple & Sinister
Kettlebell Simple & Sinister | StrongFirst

As well as the strength benefits I am using S&S as a way to reset my body clock and to encourage me to get an early start and begin the day on the right foot and am loving it for that.

GMB Free Rings Program