all posts post new thread

Barbell Trap/Hex Bar - turn over for no raised handles?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Steve Freides

Staff
Senior Certified Instructor Emeritus
Elite Certified Instructor
Question - I want to add a trap/hex bar to my gym because those DL's are good for my conventional DL start.

I found one with raised handles like many of them have, and someone suggested simply turning it over if I didn't want the raised handles. I have zero experience with these, but I do _not_ want to use the raised handles. Is it really as simple as turning it over?

Thanks.

-S-

Steve I have used the trap bar in both ways, with the handles, and turned over.

both styles work.. but I found that I preferred the raised handles, as it made the movement less of a squat

in my experience using the trap bar without the handles resulted in way too much knee flexion for me, and it actually bothered my knees.

I had a cycle of about 8 weeks, using the trap bar once a week, for 1 work set of 10-20 (was on a weird progression at the time) and switched to the handles after about 3 weeks. after that my knees stopped bothering me after every session. I initially wanted the extra ROM until I realized it bothered my knees. Anecdotal, but it's something to watch for. The trap bar is generally known for more knee flexion, with and without the handles

I think you'll really like the trap bar deadlift though, i know I preferred it to the regular barbell dead lift after I switched to using the handles

@Steve Freides
Just about every trap bar I've seen with raised handles also had regular height knurled handles. Yes, you turn the bar over to select which handles you want to use, but it's not like you would be using bar upside down or in a different way than intended. It's meant to be used either way.