all posts post new thread

Bodyweight Turkish Get Up Versus Warrior Pushup

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Kozushi

Level 7 Valued Member
By "Warrior Pushup" I mean the one leg one arm pushup in the "Naked Warrior" book.

Which exercise is "better" - it or the Turkish getup?

I am not in a position to be able to judge as I'm fairly new to weightlifting.

I would like some advice as I want to design my programme to be the best possible for me.

My instinct on this is that since the warrior pushup loads more weight on my arm while also loading lots of weight on all the anti-twist muscles all around my body, I'd think it would be the better exercise. It being safer isn't a bad point in its favour either. On the other hand, a kettlebell could be procured that would load as much or more weight onto my arm and body.

I wonder if anyone has had any thoughts on this.

Given that your top priority is appearance, I'd say they're almost equal, but if I had to pick a winner, I'd say the OAPU. Reasons being more bi/triceps action, thus more muscle tone in the upper arms, whilst also working the shoulders. I found that when I stopped doing OAPUs and just did TGUs, my upper arms got significantly thinner. I didn't care, as I wasn't after aesthetics, but it's something to consider.

Also, while the OAPU, being a bodyweight exercise, will not likely burn fat in and of itself, it will reward you with progress if you maintain a lean body composition. What I mean by this is that if you're fat but strong, you have a lot of dead weight, so you might be good at TGUs, while struggling with OAPUs.