all posts post new thread

Bodyweight Unpacking the shoulders at the bottom of a pullup?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

freeflowme

Level 4 Valued Member
Hey all,

I've been doing pull-ups regularly for several months now, and up until recently I was always "unpacking" my shoulders at the bottom of each rep. I really like the stretch, and I feel like stretching at the bottom allows me to drive upwards more with my lats than with my arms, because the movement is initiated by drawing my shoulder blades down and back.

Then I came across this video by Jeff Cavalier, in which he states that it's dangerous for your shoulder health to allow your shoulders to unpack at the bottom of a pull-up. I don't know whether he's someone worth listening to or not, but I gave keeping my shoulders packed a try and I have to say I didn't like it. I suppose that could just be because it's different, but it really shortened the range of movement and made it feel more about my arms than my lats.

So, I was wondering what the "party line" is on pull-ups at StrongFirst. I have to imagine that most dead hangs are done allowing the shoulders to unpack, no? And if so it seems okay for the pull-up too.

Thanks in advance.

Unpacked ok for deadhangs but I’m in the “keep them packed” camp for pull-ups. Before I discovered that a few years ago I nearly destroyed my shoulders doing pull-ups unpacked.

@freeflowme, IMHO, if it ain't broke, don't fix it. There are many ways to do pullups, and many ways to do hangs. I would describe what I do at the bottom of each rep in a set of pullups as "half-unpack" and this, too, can be OK. You may, in fact, be doing this, too, just relaxing some but not going into a full dead hang but you can tell you are relaxing the tension somewhat.

All the recent talk about the benefits of dead hangs for the shoulders refers to unpacked, truly "dead" hanging.

-S-