all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Weighted pull-up saftey

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)
Do you think that the dip belt weighted pull-up is safe for your spine?
Yes. Usually, the spine can handle the vertical force (think front squat) better than the horizontal force (think hip thrust). In weighted- pull up the gravity force pulls nearly vertical with the spine so I think it's safe. Also, the load is usually small (the heaviest pull up on the forum, based on the survey a few weeks ago is 80 kg; and many people squat like 150 kg above in the forum)

With the belt positioned on your hips, it should help to pull your spine down a bit and might actually relieve pressure and tension in your back.

It could probably aggravate some conditions (hanging from a bar to 'decompress' absolutely can - see Zatsiorsky for details), but unless you have issues already I don't think it's likely to cause them.

I’m not a medical professional, but I see no reason it would be a problem.
I have been doing weighted pull-ups off and on for decades without issue. That being said I typically use a climbing harness to sling the weight from.

Only side effect is... getting stronger...

I've found that while decompressing the spine by hanging does help, having a weight at the bottom of your spine as you hang helps even more. Using a dip belt is the classic way to perform weighted pullups and, as the name suggested, dips, too.

The usual cautions apply - make sure you're clear to exercise without restrictions, have a movement screen, and add weight gradually to allow your body time to adapt.

-S-

I've found that while decompressing the spine by hanging does help, having a weight at the bottom of your spine as you hang helps even more. Using a dip belt is the classic way to perform weighted pullups and, as the name suggested, dips, too.