all posts post new thread

Kettlebell What can I expect and how to train for my goals?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Fredrik

Level 4 Valued Member
My name is Fredrik, I am 36 years old and I am new to the forum and kettlebells are pretty new to me as well. I am 183 cm tall and around 75 kg.
I have looked at kettlebells for a while and wanted to try it but have not had the time because of others sports I have trained.
I have been doing rock climbing for 18 years and trained pretty hard for a good chunk of those years, 5-7 Days a week with periodization throughout the year. I did get pretty strong and for a while I actually did one arm pullups (1-2) and one finger one arm hangs. I was also able to do a front lever back then.
When climbing that much, even though it's a pretty functional sport with natural movements, you can get a bit unbalanced in your body with some muscles getting crazy strong while other muscles are actually pretty weak. So around 2006 I started doing some cross country skiing and running as a balance to all the climbing and have also in periods done some work at the gym focusing mainly on pullups, dips, deadlift, military press and back squat. Since 2010 I have not climbed as much as before and I have focused more on skiing, running and bodyweight training like, pullups, planks, squats and pushups. I am not in the one arm pullup form anymore but probably still can do around 12-15 good pullups to the chest.
So I found kettlebells and S&S about two months ago... I know about some weaknesses I have had during my climbing days wich I think the S&S program could really adress. These weaknesses are my lower abs wich sometimes has caused my feet to cut loose during hard climbs and my shoulders wich sometimes have not been able to keep me close enough to the wall when performing some moves.