all posts post new thread

Kettlebell What if I'm below average?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

AndyGog

Level 5 Valued Member
Hi

I'm just getting started with S&S, having got myself 16kg and 24kg kettlebells, as recommended for an 'average gentleman'. I can swing the 24, but I wouldn't say comfortably, and I can barely get started doing TGUs with the 16. I've tried TGUs with a 12kg, which I can do even if they're a bit wobbly.

I guess, I'm a below average gentleman at the moment. I'm 46 years old, 5'10" and 80kg at about 23% bf.

So, do I persevere with the 16 and 24kg bells or use the 16 for swings and a 12kg for TGUs?

Does it matter? My feeling is to use the smaller bells to get started and work through the progression from there.

Got to say I'm feeling a bit demotivated at the moment. I knew I was starting from being very weak but I had no idea it was this bad!

Thanks in advance.

Keep at it!

I started with 16kg (the TGU felt like a million pounds) but was at 32kg for swings and getups within just a few months.

The only average that should matter is your own progress.

Load doesn't matter. Standards don't matter either. The only thing that matters is progress.

Are you able to do a decent TGU with no load at all? If so, you are WAY ahead of most people.

If, after a few weeks, now you can do a decent TGU using a two-kilo bell, that's progress. Period.

Don't be in a hurry. Just show up, do the work and progress will be made eventually.

Being able to enjoy the process (as opposed to be a goal-only oriented person) is a huge advantage.

I like to start a new bell size with clean & jerk to get it overhead and then the get down portion. Doesn't take too long to acclimate from there.

Don't sweat it. If you're new to kettlebells, it's totally understandable. My recommendation would be to spend a few sessions dedicated to establishing your movement patterns before you start loading them up.
TGU's with shoe