all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Where to begin?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Bill DeAngelis

Level 4 Valued Member
Hello StrongFirst...I’m humbly seeking advice on where to start. I am…

Sex: Male

Height: 6’3”

Weight: 285lbs.

Body Composition: Unknown (Guessing: At least 60lbs overweight)

Injury History: Currently Uninjured (No major injuries ever)

Movement History: Never had a FMS. I move well and I’m pretty flexible.

Sports/Competition History: High School Football and Wrestling. In the past, as an adult I practiced different martial arts. I’ve been weight lifting on and off most of my life.

Other: I served in the U.S. Army and I am currently a law enforcement officer.

Current Priorities: Get stronger and improve body composition. I’m not sure what strength standards I should strive for, but for body composition 20% body fat is the goal.

Ultimate Goals: Resilience andLongevity.

Relevant Books I’ve Read:

Simple & Sinister Power to the People The Russian Kettlebell Challenge
Enter the Kettlebell The Naked Warrior Bullet-Proof ABS
Beyond Stretching Relax Into Stretch Super Joints
Fast & Loose Beyond Bodybuilding Easy Strength
Intervention

Yes, I’ve read a lot, but I have never really put any of it into consistent practice. I have always had a hard time putting all of Pavel’s ideas together (and I’ve been reading his work since the first article I found on him in Muscle Media 2000!).

Currently:

For the last 2-3 weeks I have been practicing on my barbell and kettlebell technique/form in the squat, deadlift, military press, bench press, 2HSW and TGU. I have not even attempted to go heavy at all yet.

Where do I want to go from here?