all posts post new thread

Old Forum Why do ladders go up in reps?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Jason Paul

Level 3 Valued Member
I've wondered this for a while. Why do ladders go up in reps (1, 2, 3, 4, 5), rather than down (5, 4, 3, 2, 1)?

Obviously, each rung gets harder because it has more reps. If they went down, they would get easier each time, and you'd still end up with the same number of reps. At least that makes sense in my head.

Full disclosure: I haven't really done ladders, since I'm just getting back into it after a long layoff. Previously, I did more of a 3x5 or 5x5 style workout. So, I have no argument to make.

Also I'm just getting started with the PM, so I probably won't be doing ladders for a while anyway. So, this is just a question out of curiosity.

Thanks,

Jason

they don't always count up. there are upsides to different ladder styles--counting up, down, semi-random (i think pavel has a term for this)...

give ladders a shot when you're after volume. they are hard not to like--conducive to high tonnage with relatively low emotional/psychological drain.

To restate Russell, I think the typical use of ascending ladders (1,2,3,4,5) is about the ability to increase volume and staying fresh.  It's also a great way to "earn" the next size bell and make the typical jumps in bell size for those who are financially challenged or don't have space for a whole room of bells. If the rungs went in reverse, you would probably start with a heavier bell and lose the lessons that are learned mastering the lighter one. However, I will sometimes throw in a descending ladder set(5,4,3,2,1) with no rest between rungs after my regular ladders if I want to do a finisher. I'll need a few more days between pressing sessions if I do that or have a back-off week planned already.

Jason C.,