all posts post new thread

Old Forum Why do we train the snatch?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

cdybeijing

Level 1 Valued Member
Hi all, first time post but long time reader of this forum and previously DD forums. I’m completely self-taught with kettlebells though I have made extensive use of my copy of ETK.

The simple question in the title “Why do we train the snatch?” may seem silly but I am unable to answer it for myself. I do not struggle to answer the same question about presses, swings, get-ups/windmills and squats. I am aware that the snatch is a competition lift in kettlebell sport so my question only applies to individuals who are using kettlebells for purposes other than competing in GS.

The press is a classic upper body strength building tool. The swing provides a simple and safe hinge movement that develops conditioning and power. Get-ups and windmills are full body tension exercises that promote mobility, core activation, and overall strength. Squats are an essential movement pattern and the best builder of the legs and glutes.

By contrast, the snatch seems to be an end in itself. It certainly develops conditioning and power, but so does the swing. One could argue that the snatch is a progression of the swing, but to what end? The swing has a much simpler progression (heavier swings) which has a far lower technical requirement and spares the shoulders for other training. In the ROP program, conditioning is developed with the swing and the snatch is used to test or display those gains, but we could just as easily have a swing test…

Hope some of you will be able to provide some insight on this.

^Smart question & want to read what SFGs know.

I attacked snatches directly and got 225 on the SSST.  Also... overused shoulders, tight piriformis muscles, raw hands, and glycolytic burnout.  Minimum-effective-dose swings now.  Still can snatch, like riding a bike.