all posts post new thread

Old Forum Why does squeezing the glutes protect the lower back?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

hardstyler

Level 1 Valued Member
Squeezing the glutes only involves muscles of the hip and upper legs, so how does that protect the lumbar spine? One idea might be that the psoas muscles are involved too and that this does protect the lower spine, but that's just a guess.

Hard Styler,

When you contract the gluteus, there is a sympathetic contraction of the abs, aiding in the stabilization of the spine.

An over-simplfied explanation, but it's as simple an answer as I have.

Hard Styler, it's not diificult for me to give you an explanation - I have a bad back and feel it when I don't do this.  I'll explain a bit more.  NB: Please understand that I am not a medical doctor and my explanation might not apply to you and your issues.

First of all, what Mark said is absolutely true.  I want to add that different movements mean different things to your lower back.  In a standing overhead press, especially with double kettlebells or a barbell, there is a real temptation to lean back.  Indeed, most people do lean back at least a little, even if they don't realize it, once the load reaches a certain point.  This leaning back can put your lumbar spine into extension, and you want to try to keep your lumbar spine in a neutral position and not extended when under that sort of load.  Clenching your glutes will effectively turn your pelvis under a bit, removing some of that extension (or hyper-extension if you want to call it that).