all posts post new thread

Barbell Why not RSR?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Basil

Level 1 Valued Member
Here is the link to Brett Jones's article on the Russian Squat Routine (RSR).

I have been doing PTTP for the last 4 months. I have gone from a 5RM of 255 lbs. to 275 lbs., and hopefully 285 lbs. this week. My deadlift has increased 5-10lbs per month.

I have a rare, clear training window of 3-5 months starting October 27th, and I want to maximize that time. This is enough time to do the Pre-RSR followed by one or two cycles of RSR (with a week rest between each).

Over the next 3 months:
Without RSR: I feel confident I can add 15-30 lbs. to my 5RM if progress continues like this.
With RSR: I am hoping to add 30+ lbs to my 5RM.

At my stage of training is there any reason NOT to do this?
Will it affect future gains when I return to PTTP later on?
Are the RSR gains worth the risk at this stage?

I think if you continue making gains on PTTP, continue until you can not. One thing you don't want to do, is get into the habit of switching programs while you are making progress on them. It is easy to get distracted by new reps, new layout, new everything. The RSR can be a good program to do once the gains of PTTP dry out. Save the powerful medicine until you actually need it.

sounds like PTTP is really working for you.

if I were you I would use that extra time on recovery instead of more training on a different program. jmo though

I agree with Philippe Geoffrion: if you keep making good progress with PTTP, stick with PTTP. It generates almost no fatigue and you get some of the easiest strength gains you can get.
If you want to capitalize on the extra time, better add some mobility work or cardio, or even some assistance work (dead hangs, gym rings, etc.) as long as it doesn't interfere with your PTTP gains.

Will it affect future gains when you return to PTTP later on?