all posts post new thread

Barbell Zercher Squat Critique

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Abdul-Rasheed

Level 6 Valued Member
In an effort to replace the back squat with Zercher if at all I end up doing the Faleev's program, I have practiced a few Zercher squats today. I didn't get to do a lot of research. I watched a few videos and tried to apply principles I think I know from KB squats. I am sure there are tons wrong here. This was the last set using 85 lbs. Thanks in advance.

I'm doing zercher squats as well. I'm not experienced, so take it with a grain of salt:

- the initial deadlift and set up of the bar on the knees looks a bit sloppy. I would try to avoid lifting with bent arms even if it's light. Same for the final rep.

- the lower back of the first squat seems to round a bit. Next reps seem better.

@Abdul Rasheed, when squatting in any form, it's important not to let the hips come up first. Imagine that you are driving the bar up, not trying to stand up with your legs, or imagine you are trying to drive your head straight up. In a conventional deadlift, if the hips come up first, you can still try to muscle the bar up, but in a squat of any significant weight, you'll just get buried by the bar.

-S-

Yes, in addition to the above, hips back more. Your zercher squat looks more like a goblet squat, as I did when I first tried them. I was corrected at the SFL to sit the hips back as you would in a back squat, deadlift, and kettlebell swing. Tailbone back to 8:00 on a clock (where goblet squat is 6:00, front squat is 7:00, good morning is 9:00.)

And, to quote @Steve Freides, "put some weight on that bar". :)

@Oscar I will look for some videos on the site to rectify it by watching others doing it

@Steve Freides I watched the video a couple of times. I can "see" the mistake.