all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Does someone has experience improving muscular endurance of amputees?

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

Shahaf Levin

Level 5 Valued Member
Hi everybody,
I have a physical therapist friend who work with an amputee with a prosthetic leg. She asked me if I have an idea of muscular endurance training more tailored towards such a specific population.

Since I value the knowledge and opinion of the members of this community I thought I might find some help here.

I told her that IMO, except of medical limitations, muscles are muscles and the general guidelines of strength-endurance work should hold. Furthermore, efficiency of movement should be the main consideration, as well as psychological factors. Of course I have zero case specific experience or medical knowledge so my advice should not be take to seriously, should be criticized, and tested carefully if used.

So, does anyone here has a specific experience working with amputees or peoples with other severe limb limitations? Are there some additional considerations I missed? Can someone reference a research paper (she need to present the case study)?

Thanks,
Shahaf

Muscles are muscles. This is kinda off-topic, but I think she can use this youtube channel for motivation etc.. purposes.

Bodyweight Muscle

Check that channel yourself. Good content and inspirational story anyway.

Last edited:
Yes muscles are muscles. I am not a physical therapist but I do have quite a bit of expedience training individuals with physical limitations. The fact that the person has had a leg amputation in no way changes the requirements for training their muscles, heart, or lungs. It might only preclude them from some specific work due to limitations.