all posts post new thread

Kettlebell Total newbie - sore lats from swings, pls critique my lack of style!

Status
Closed Thread. (Continue Discussion of This Topic by Starting a New Thread.)

LargePiece

Level 2 Valued Member
Greetings comrades,

In my quest to be Russian strongman I have obtained a 16kg kettlebell! Currently my weedy arms are barely strong enough to lift it but one day they will be like ox thighs!

My current attempt at swings has lead to somewhat sore lats (I'm pretty sure it's my lats, either side of my spine about half way down my back.) I can feel them tighten when I'm letting the kettlebell back down. I'm also not really feeling the goodness in my hips, I guess I'm not using them to power the whole thing. :(

I've been going back to the partial exercises that build up to the whole thing illustrated in Simple and Sinister but can't figure out where I'm going wrong.

Here's a link to my efforts:

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

@LargePiece, welcome to the StrongFirst forum.

A session with an SFG would be great for you to help you get off to a good start. Please try to find someone using the FIND AN INSTRUCTOR link on our web site.

-S-

My current attempt at swings has lead to somewhat sore lats (I'm pretty sure it's my lats, either side of my spine about half way down my back.) I can feel them tighten when I'm letting the kettlebell back down. I'm also not really feeling the goodness in my hips, I guess I'm not using them to power the whole thing. :(
Hi @LargePiece
Here are some resources to help you fix some of the technical issues with your swing:

1. The Setup
You currently squat down to setup for your swings
Screenshot_20200302-181018_Chrome.jpg
Try Brett Jones Lock and Rock from this article

And then try hinging back to pick up the bell (instead of squating)
There are some helpful tips in these articles:

2. The Hinge